The Burnham Plan Centennial - Bold Plans, Big Dreams

Program Partners


Founded in 1915 by a group of authors that included Hamlin Garland, Harriet Monroe and Vachel Lindsay, the Society of Midland Authors provides publicity and public relations for authors who reside in, were born in, or have strong ties to the twelve-state Midwestern Heartland. The Society also presents annual awards for excellence to authors and poets in the categories of adult fiction and nonfiction, biography, poetry, and children's fiction and nonfiction published in the previous year. 
The Society's charter members were James Whitcomb Riley, Edna Ferber, George Ade, Clarence Darrow and Zona Gale. Other illustrious names from the roster over the years include Jane Addams, Margaret Culkin Banning, Daniel J. Boorstin, August Derleth, John Bartlow Martin, Elder Olson, Gene Stratton Porter, Carl Sandburg, Lorado Taft and William Allen White.

Partner Category: Cultural Institution or Organization

Centennial Activities

Tuesday, November 10, 2009 6:00pm to 9:00pm

Authors Weigh In On Burnham's Plan of Chicago

Society of Midland Authors

The Society of Midland Authors presents a special panel of four authors focused on Daniel Burnham's Plan of Chicago. The engaging evening takes place at the historic Cliff Dweller's Club.
The authors are: [MORE]

Society of Midland Authors


Society of Midland Authors
P.O. Box 10419
Chicago, IL 60610
[Get Directions]

Contact: Thomas Frisbie,

The Burnham Plan Centennial
© Copyright 2009

c/o Chicago Metropolis 2020
30 West Monroe Street, 18th Floor Chicago, Illinois 60603 • (312)332-2020

Site developed and hosted by
The University of Chicago Library